2013

railroad-track

Life is a one-way road.

Where you can see back, but you can’t go back. So don’t miss any thing. Enjoy every second of life. ★

2011 was full of challenges and testing of obedience, and 2012 was full of waiting and testing of patience. The common denominator was the test of faith. I could say that this year has given me more challenges about my personal life as compared to the previous ones, and there were also new ones that really tested my wisdom and my trust in God.

I started my 2012 with the 7-day Prayer and Fasting in our church, and during those days, God has revealed a lot of things to me. I’d like to share my 2012 faith goals as taken from my journal, and the answers about them that were uncovered at a sooner time this 2012:

Personal/Career

  1. Spiritual growth
    -This has to be one of the most important happenings to me. Because of the dark seasons I encountered this year, my spirit was strengthened and I got to hold on to God more. And it happened by January, and is still happening!
  2. Be more dependent on God (IN EVERYTHING!)
    -This would be a spoiler… I can’t even believe it but due to doing this, He made those faith goals happen.
  3. Pride, lust, bad words/thoughts = STOP!!!
    -Ummm this is really a struggle for me! To be honest, I still can’t get away with the lust but I am very happy that the pride and bad thoughts diminished. I don’t interpret every single thing people say anymore. I was granted more wisdom this year but that doesn’t mean I have to be prideful of it. I lost interest in conflicts and arguments, but am striving to uplift and lend a hand. And lastly… I lost the ability to WORRY too much.
  4. Physical healing = Good health!
    -Thankfully, God granted me a good health this year. No serious illnesses, even though I’m still thin. We can do something about that by 2013, right?
  5. Graduate successfully on-time! (March 2012)
    -VICTORIOUS MOMENT! At March 31, 2012, I successfully graduated at the University of Santo Tomas with my degree in Computer Science. No special awards, but this is really an honor for me and my family. Glory be to God!!
  6. Excellence in school tasks + exams for eligibility on graduation (Pass mark in Cobol Lab!)
    -God not only granted me a passing mark: He told me to have higher standards! So I surpassed 5.0, then 3.0, and went way up! Yay!
  7. (After-graduation) Lord grant me a stable and enough-paying job so I can provide for my family & payback my relatives who helped in our financial stuff
    -One of the greatest struggles I faced this year. My darkest season was 6 months of pure rebellion against God and what seemed like “nothingness”. I envied most of my school mates who already found their jobs and are already earning, while I am sitting down in front of my laptop, passing time, waiting for my own moment. I argued with God and I want to bite onto every opportunity that comes my way, but God reminded me of the standards, of the right time, and of waiting patiently. During the last few weeks of that season, I got tired of grudging, rebelling, and sulking so I came back to church. My dad told me I will find the right one soon. My leader prophesied that I will be having my job very soon. Turns out I didn’t have to find it by my own self, by my own efforts. I can’t thank God enough for His intervention that I landed to the one He appointed me to be in. 😀

Family

  1. Household salvation!
    -On going!!
  2. Bonding + Restoration
    -Dad went home this year and even though it was just for a few weeks, we still bonded at home. My youngest sister missed him so much!
  3. Stable & high-paying job for Dad
    -I could feel that this is still in the process! Claiming it! 🙂
  4. Financial gain + blessings
    -Ahh, I am absolutely grateful to the Lord that I am already working now so we do not really run out of money as compared before. Though we still have to pay for debts, the blessings are overflowing!
  5. Good health for everyone
    -Yep, granted! 🙂

My Ministry

  1. Ministry to join (Music? Creative?)
    -I was hoping to be in the music ministry but God said this is not yet the time. I agreed. I have a lot to focus on during this year, so I had to put this at the back of my list first
  2. Hope to find a one-to-one disciple 🙂
    -I almost had one! But due to conflicts in our schedules, she was led by another group mate in the church. It’s alright for me, because God as given me new friends to disciple and counsel this year (which means I have to grow more and more in faith)!
  3. More devotion and quiet time
    -This happened at the first half of the year!! I kind of neglected it when I had my job as I get home tired, so my only time for prayer is the moment I wake up or take a bath or on my way to work or home. Still thankful though that I get to talk to Him even in the oddest of all places.
  4. Salvation of friends + Open their hearts to the Lord
    -On going!! I could see and feel that the seed planted will grow in time. Anticipating for this!

This was the year that I finally knew how it is to live by the Spirit and be sensitive to what God is calling me for. I’m thankful for all the memories made this 2012!

In my blog post last January 1, 2012, I wrote these on the latter part of the post:

P.S. I studied Bisaya during 2011, and I’m done with it… This 2012, I am going beyond my boundaries. I will be studying German! Also, I am graduating this year! :D

P.P.S. Don’t be afraid if it’s really the end of the world this year. Live life. Seek God, and He will find you!

I got to study German and French this year (although basics)! Plus, I met a Dutch friend and he usually uses Dutch expressions and statements, and I’m inspired to understand azbuka and learn Bulgarian/Russian language because of another special friend (his name is Dilian!) so those are additional ones for me! And I also graduated! YAAY!

As for the P.P.S., turns out that it’s not yet the end because we still have a lot to discover. In line with the quote above, life is a one-way road because even though we may have to stop by at some point, we have to move forward to find out what else is ahead of us. Choose a track wisely, then follow where the railroad takes you.

This is a start of something glorious!

May we all have a blessed and prosperous journey this 2013.

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!! 😀

P.S. I had a lot of traveling dreams in the first half of this year which started the day after my birthday. On the 4th day of my prayer & fasting, the Lord revealed to me Genesis 12:1-3. I believe this is not coincidental; I refuse to see the significance at first but as the days go by, something about Genesis 12:1-3 and the travel dreams are being revealed to me. Eagerly waiting in the Lord! 🙂

Leave a comment