Bible Misconceptions.

I am reading 7 articles right now, and they are correlated with one another. The theme is “false religion”. You know, because of this thing called “religion”, I get my mind boggled with a lot of questions. I used to believe you need this to be able to get to know God and go to heaven. It’s a misconception. You can have a religion but live without faith, and that won’t get you to heaven. I believe that religion is just a label. Grace and faith is essential.

Anyway, I was shocked to find out in these articles that the NIV Bible is a perverted one. (Sorry I have to hide the sources. I don’t even want to trust them because it is made by people as well) I mean, gee, I only know few versions of the Bible, at the same time I know THOSE that are completely rendered to hide the TRUTH, but I did not know that NIV was one of them?!

We were a family of Catholics, thus our Bible are for Catholics (we currently have Today’s English Version; is it also perverted?!) and it is the only one I could settle on for now. When I was able to get a hold of the King James’ Version, I found that it is similar yet the words are really difficult to understand at first read because it uses Old English (but you could understand it when you ask guidance😀 ). This is the bible that my previous church used. But when I changed to another church, they were using the NIV.

The difference of them in my opinion is how they were written and made to let more readers understand the Word of God easily, but the context is still there. Some people argue that NIV deletes the important “words/translations” of the original Bible that is important for us to know. Now, I don’t understand. I hope I don’t get the wrong version of the Bible, because this is the only foundation I could have more knowledge of God. It is the basis of all the services and messages. This is where we know about the Truth. Imagine what could just happen if what I got is wrong! I will definitely have a misconception on a lot of things about God. I need light.

Lord, please tell me which is which.😦

3 thoughts on “Bible Misconceptions.

  1. I dunno if the Bible version still matters. Besides, the Bible isn’t to be taken literally in the first place. Some people just know a lot of things about the Bible without knowing what exactly the book is for.

    Another thing, the Lord didn’t exactly send down the Bible from the heavens in tablet/scroll/eBook form. It is a collage of 2000 years of human experience and encounter of a loving Divine Being written in sometimes excellent, sometimes tedious prose, poetry and everything in between.

    I’m not the most qualified person to say this, but I think perversion is not much of an issue. Besides, the Song of Songs made it to the Bible (all versions of them), slightly lewd references to breasts and all.

    Ahhh, I miss reading someone truly interested in matters of faith. Sorry kung baka walang point yung ibang nakasulat dito, pero ayun. Minsan nga, usap tayo. Long time no see😀

  2. During my studies in Philosophy of religion, I asked my professor about the differences in the translations of the bibles; the professor told me that each bible has different interpretations on certain passages. Each different interpretation corresponds to different translations. Imagine having to translate Greek or Hebrew or Latin into English… Each language has its own culture attached to it, thus it becomes difficult for a person to translate a word or a concept exactly (concisely?) to another language. Por ejemplo es la palabra, “Palusot” en Ingles. Ang salitang “Palusot” na isinalin sa inggles ay “Loophole” ngunit masasabi natin na hindi ito ang pinaka-eksaktong English Translation sapagkat nagagamit natin ang “Palusot” kahit na walang “Loophole”, gets? Parang “Excuses” na rin.

    Mira, what I have learned in philosophy is that it is hard to understand a philosopher if you do not go into their mindset and language. That is because there are so many things that you can miss if you only rely on the translation of others instead of reading it in its primary language. I asked my Professor in the Philo of Religion what bible translation should I use if I were to seriously study it, he said I should use the “Dewey” translation because it sticks to the literal translation the words in Hebrew; up to now, I still haven’t seen a Dewey translated Bible in the bookstore….

    Now, about your article on perversion, I have several questions. One, are the writers of the article you’ve read “Christians” or “Atheists”? If they are Christians, then we can come up to a conclusion that he or she might have a bias against the NIV translation – which stands to reason because the NIV has a sublime propaganda against certain groups of people (KJV too). Different sect of Christianity tend to use different translations and what happens is that they tend to bash each other because of different interpretations of different translation (Imagine again, an economist arguing with a religious zealot because of Lao Zi’s Dao De Jing because one had read the economic version of the poem and the other had read of the religious version of the poem)

    If the writer is an Atheist, then we can come to a conclusion that he is bashing the whole of Christianity based on one interpretation of the book; likewise, his arguments might point out the contradictions found in the bible (and there are indeed numerous of these). But again, we will find ourselves amidst a harsh battle of people bashing each other because of their own beliefs. As Jesus said, “Turn the Other Cheek”; in other words, leave them alone.

    In my own personal opinion, it is a bad habit to turn to the bible when it comes to knowing the truth. Ever since ancient civilizations learned to read or write, people have been trying to know what the true “Truth” is all about. No religion in Earth can claim the absolute truth and this includes Christianity. A Muslim can point to the Q’uran and call it his “Truth”. A Hindu can point to the Vedas and call it his “Truth”. Likewise, The Jews his Torah, The Christians his Bible, The Buddhist and Confucians their virtues. Religion is purely a subjective matter; “What I believe in might not be right to you, and what you believe in might not be right to me”… this kind of thinking however leads to numerous wars and bloody deaths. In Ancient China, the Philosopher Zhuang Zi once said “Suppose you and I were to argue. If you win and I lose, are you indeed right and I wrong? And if I win and you lose, am I right and you you are wrong? Are we both partly right and partly wrong? are we both right and both wrong? If you cannot see the truth, other people will find it even harder…”

    As with regards to Christianity being a false religion, let us review some key points: The rosary comes from the Buddhist pearls in India; The concept of “atonement” came from the concept of “Being at-one with the universe” of Hindu philosophy or the Taoist principle of Ancient China; Mithra is the Pagan Jesus (rather a Hindu-Iranian version of the Early Romans); Likewise many saints of Christians came from corrupted versions of the Roman or Pagan Gods. But does these facts all mean that Christianity is a “False” Religion? I will leave that for you to answer, tutal Relihiyon mo iyan, do your part and defend it. Bigyan kita ng clue: Define Religion and differentiate it from Religiosity. Mula doon, maari mong iangat ang sarili mong relihiyon bagamat ito ay nagmula sa sari-saring relihiyon na nagmula at nagsimula sa Roman Empire.

Leave a Reply

