JENESYS.

  • November 25

It all started on November 25, 2009.

We were standing outside the Dean’s Office waiting for Janette to come out. She went in for documents she needed for the scholarship. Until I swooped off my reverie and started to wonder what are those dull papers inside the bulletin board.

And I was surprised to see “JENESYS” written in here. First is because I have heard it from Emzi a few months ago, and SECOND, it is an exchange program to my second ever beloved country JAPAN! (I’d have to put in 2nd because you might think I’m not nationalistic)

So the journey began.

The original members who would join here were included OF COURSE by ME, then Clarence, Janette, and Marie. But after 2 days, Janette backed-out because her mom disapproved of it. I was really into it so I began filling up the forms with things I could answer. I was eager. We, I guess, were eager.

  • December 1

Until it was a Tuesday after we saw it, Clarence told me that she wanted to back-out too, due to her average grade. I really felt sad because of that, and I knew this moment would be coming– this moment were I’d be the only one left. And I don’t want that. Then the day after she said she’d back-out, she said she will not NOW that she’s already prepared a lot of things for it.

The original plan was to submit before Dec. 4 and to submit on Nov. 29, but it deemed impossible because:

  1. Certificate of Good Moral still wasn’t available (needed 3 working days)
  2. No NBI Clearance yet (30 minutes but opens only on Mon-Fri 8-5pm)
  3. No Certification of Membership YET (and this was the hard one)
  • DECEMBER 2

We thought it was easy, but preparing for the stuff and all, it costed us a lot of money and a lot of time. The NBI Clearance was such an experience, for we went around the area like mad; we were fussing and moving faster than how we really are. We spent about 30 minutes inside the center (we got there Wednesday at 9am) and it was really tiring. We have to line-up along with a long line of people. But after that, it’s done. I love the fingerprinting part. And I hate my NBI picture because really, I looked like a stressed-middle aged-woman there. Or maybe like someone who smoked weed.

YOU WOULD NOT WANT TO COUNT THE NUMBER OF STEPS AND STAIRS WE’VE ALREADY HAD. AND HAVING.

Anyway, the next target for that day was the ORGANIZATION. We need to be a member of a youth organization, so we headed for Red Cross Manila. This was the very frustrating part because we have to walk around Intramuros to find that Red Cross, and it was HOT, and my umbrella was broken. The membership went well and we’re members in an instant, but the problem was the certificate. The staff said we should get it on CAB, meaning we have to get back to UST for it. Sad. We walked with some foreigners to find a jeep that would go to Dapitan. It was such a hot, haggard-ly day.

We arrived at Dapitan at about 11:30, and we have to hurry because we have a class at 12nn. We could not contact the president of RCYC AB because he’s busy doing the blood donating drive. And it was the moment we already wanted to give up.

  • DECEMBER 3

We went in and out of the AB Building to look for the President but all in vain. Until we’ve finally met Ms. VP, she said we should ask for certification in Eng’g Unit. Yea, right. That was about 3-4 buildings away. I decided to go to ESC to ask if we could contact any of the RCY Eng’g Unit staff and…

LUCKILY, this one guy there has a list of the contact numbers of (different organization staffs and) the RCYC Staff in Eng’g Unit. I contacted Ms. Natty. It’s already Dec. 3 and we only have half of the day for the certificate.

BLAAAAHH.

Then it was Raisa’s birthday that night. I kept on text messaging Ms. Natty for the certificate.

  • DECEMBER 4

SORE FEET!

I hate walking this day. Our feet felt sore already and we could not walk. Also we got some troubles on RCYC because we weren’t part of the original database but thankfully the Vice President told us that it would be the gift of RCY to us. HUGE THANKS!! AND THE CERTIFICATION WAS ALREADY MADE THE MOMENT I GOT THERE! I don’t know but everything seemed to go as planned. Or whatever God has planned.

And that afternoon, all my papers were ready. I checked it a lot of times.

At lunch time, we headed to the computer shop because Clarence had to finish her essays and resume. Then, I was kind of mad to find out that she has not filled up most of the information on the forms! I nagged her and instead of blaming, I just helped her answer some of the information. Until it’s time to look for National Youth Commission.

WOO! We’re nervous because we don’t know how to look for the NYC Bookman Building and the driver said he doesn’t know about Quezon Ave, but the odd thing was that, he told us to just look on the left side, and IT WAS ACTUALLY ON THE LEFT SIDE! I saw this building with 261-269 written on it, and since NYC was 373, I felt it was in line with those.

And we decided to CUT OUR NEXT TWO CLASSES JUST TO PASS THE FORMS.

Crazy but we need to sacrifice sometimes. And to tell, we have a quiz on the last subject. But really, everything seemed to go as planned because our professor agreed to give us a make-up exam. AND HURRAH!

All’s well that ends well.😀

2 thoughts on “JENESYS.

  1. “YOU WOULD NOT WANT TO COUNT THE NUMBER OF STEPS AND STAIRS WE’VE ALREADY HAD. AND HAVING”
    –well, seriously… That experience reminds me of the ‘death march’.. hahahaha…
    We keep on walking that day, and to make matters worse I’m on heels…+_+.. We really did a lot of sacrificing…But it’s alright, we did make it in time anyway!!! ^_^😀

    • WORSE FOR YOU because you were in high heels! I felt bad that moment, dude. :))
      But it was such an experience. Nerve-cracking not to mention body-whacking experience. And yes, we made it in time!😛

Leave a Reply

